Filmbrosis Presents: The Oscars!

Leave a comment

81st Academy Awards¨ Press Kit Images

No time for a big blowout this year, with the Best of 2014 special and website revamp occupying our attention. But here’s a last-minute look at our Oscar picks, guaranteed to help you win your Oscar pool*! We’re skipping the shorts and documentaries because we have only so much time and energy for this sort of thing. 

*Not a guarantee

Red = Becca’s pick

Blue = Ryan’s pick

Purple = Halleluiah, Becca and Ryan agree!

Best Picture

American Sniper – Clint Eastwood, Robert Lorenz, Andrew Lazar, Bradley Cooper and Peter Morgan

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – Alejandro González Iñárritu, John Lesher and James W. Skotchdopole

Boyhood – Richard Linklater and Cathleen Sutherland

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson, Scott Rudin, Steven Rales and Jeremy Dawson

The Imitation Game – Nora Grossman, Ido Ostrowsky and Teddy Schwarzman

Selma – Christian Colson, Oprah Winfrey, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner

The Theory of Everything – Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Lisa Bruce and Anthony McCarten

Whiplash – Jason Blum, Helen Estabrook and David Lancaster

Best Director

Wes Anderson – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Alejandro González Iñárritu – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Richard Linklater – Boyhood

Bennett Miller – Foxcatcher

Morten Tyldum – The Imitation Game

Best Actor

Steve Carell – Foxcatcher as John Eleuthère du Pont

Bradley Cooper – American Sniper as Chris Kyle

Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game as Alan Turing

Michael Keaton – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) as Riggan Thomson / Birdman

Eddie Redmayne – The Theory of Everything as Stephen Hawking

Best Actress

Marion Cotillard – Two Days, One Night as Sandra Bya

Felicity Jones – The Theory of Everything as Jane Wilde Hawking

Julianne Moore – Still Alice as Dr. Alice Howland

Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl as Amy Elliott-Dunne

Reese Witherspoon – Wild as Cheryl Strayed

Best Supporting Actor

Robert Duvall – The Judge as Judge Joseph Palmer

Ethan Hawke – Boyhood as Mason Evans, Sr.

Edward Norton – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) as Mike Shiner

Mark Ruffalo – Foxcatcher as Dave Schultz

J. K. Simmons – Whiplash as Terence Fletcher

Best Supporting Actress

Patricia Arquette – Boyhood as Olivia Evans

Laura Dern – Wild as Barbara “Bobbi” Grey

Keira Knightley – The Imitation Game as Joan Clarke

Emma Stone – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) as Sam Thomson

Meryl Streep – Into the Woods as The Witch

Best Original Screenplay

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. and Armando Bo

Boyhood – Richard Linklater

Foxcatcher – E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness

Nightcrawler – Dan Gilroy

Best Adapted Screenplay

American Sniper – Jason Hall from American Sniper by Chris Kyle, Scott McEwen and Jim DeFelice

The Imitation Game – Graham Moore from Alan Turing: The Enigma by Andrew Hodges

Inherent Vice – Paul Thomas Anderson from Inherent Vice by Thomas Pynchon

The Theory of Everything – Anthony McCarten from Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen by Jane Wilde Hawking

Whiplash – Damien Chazelle from his short film of the same name

Best Animated Feature

Big Hero 6 – Don Hall, Chris Williams and Roy Conli

The Boxtrolls – Anthony Stacchi, Graham Annable and Travis Knight

How to Train Your Dragon 2 – Dean DeBlois and Bonnie Arnold

Song of the Sea – Tomm Moore and Paul Young

The Tale of the Princess Kaguya – Isao Takahata and Yoshiaki Nishimura

Best Foreign Film

Ida (Poland) in Polish  – Paweł Pawlikowski

Leviathan (Russia) in Russian – Andrey Zvyagintsev

Tangerines (Estonia) in Estonian and Russian – Zaza Urushadze

Timbuktu (Mauritania) in French  – Abderrahmane Sissako

Wild Tales (Argentina) in Spanish  – Damián Szifrón

Best Original Score

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Alexandre Desplat

The Imitation Game – Alexandre Desplat

Interstellar – Hans Zimmer

Mr. Turner – Gary Yershon

The Theory of Everything – Jóhann Jóhannsson

Best Original Song

“Everything Is Awesome” from The Lego Movie – Music and Lyric by Shawn Patterson

“Glory” from Selma – Music and Lyric by John Legend and Common

“Grateful” from Beyond the Lights – Music and Lyric by Diane Warren

“I’m Not Gonna Miss You” from Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me – Music and Lyric by Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond

“Lost Stars” from Begin Again – Music and Lyric by Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois

Best Sound Editing

American Sniper – Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – Martin Hernández and Aaron Glascock

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies – Brent Burge and Jason Canovas

Interstellar – Richard King

Unbroken – Becky Sullivan and Andrew DeCristofaro

Best Sound Mixing

American Sniper – John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and Thomas Varga

Interstellar – Gary A. Rizzo, Gregg Landaker and Mark Weingarten

Unbroken – Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and David Lee

Whiplash – Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins and Thomas Curley

Best Production Design

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Adam Stockhausen (Production Design); Anna Pinnock (Set Decoration)

The Imitation Game – Maria Djurkovic (Production Design); Tatiana Macdonald (Set Decoration)

Interstellar – Nathan Crowley (Production Design); Gary Fettis (Set Decoration)

Into the Woods – Dennis Gassner (Production Design); Anna Pinnock (Set Decoration)

Mr. Turner – Suzie Davies (Production Design); Charlotte Watts (Set Decoration)

Best Cinematography

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) – Emmanuel Lubezki

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Robert Yeoman

Ida – Łukasz Żal and Ryszard Lenczewski

Mr. Turner – Dick Pope

Unbroken – Roger Deakins

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Foxcatcher – Bill Corso and Dennis Liddiard

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier

Guardians of the Galaxy – Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou and David White

Best Costume Design

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Milena Canonero

Inherent Vice – Mark Bridges

Into the Woods – Colleen Atwood

Maleficent – Anna B. Sheppard

Mr. Turner – Jacqueline Durran

Best Film Editing

American Sniper – Joel Cox and Gary D. Roach

Boyhood – Sandra Adair

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Barney Pilling

The Imitation Game – William Goldenberg

Whiplash – Tom Cross

Best Visual Effects

Captain America: The Winter Soldier – Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill and Dan Sudick

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes – Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett and Erik Winquist

Guardians of the Galaxy – Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner and Paul Corbould

Interstellar – Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott Fisher

X-Men: Days of Future Past – Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie and Cameron Waldbaue


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s